In January 1952, I started a relationship with Arnold Murray, a 19-year-old unemployed man. I met Murray just before Christmas outside the Regal Cinema when walking down Manchester's Oxford Road and invited him to lunch. On January my house was burgled. Murray told me that the burglar was an acquaintance of his, and I reported the crime to the police. During the investigation I told of my relationship with Murray. During that time homesexual acts were illegal in the United Kingdom, and we were both charged with indecency under Section 11 of the Criminal Law Amendment Act 1885. The trial happened on February 27, where I pleaded "guilty" although I felt no remorse for what I had done. I was given a choice between imprisonment and probation if I agreed to take treatment designed to reduce libdo. I took treatment injection of stilboestrol and oestrogen for one year.

Comments are closed.