From 1945 to 1947, I lived in Richmond, London while I worked on the design of the Automatic Computing Engine (ACE) at the National Physical Laboratory. On February 19 1946 I presented my design of a stored-program computer. In the late 1947 I returned to Cambridge for a year where I worked on Intelligent Machinery. While I was at Cambridge the Pilot ACE was being built, and it's first program was started on May 10, 1950.  
In 1948 I was appointed Reader in the Mathematics Department at the University of Manchester. In 1949 I became Deputy Director at the Computing Laboratory there, working on software for the earliest stored program computers, the Manchester Mark 1. In "Computing machinery and intelligence" I talked about the problem of artificial intelligence, and made an experiment which became known as the Turing Test. My idea was that a computer could be said to "think",  if a human could not tell it apart through conversation, from another human. 

Comments are closed.